ChocoBliss Bites

Decadent Dark Chocolate Bites

Decadent, enticing, delicate, rich, I could use so many adjectives to describe these precious little bites of bliss. I have my days of recipes that take all my days, but to start I really want to share the simple things I create from either trying to get my mind off things, and or just because I have a craving for a particular something. I took part in Live Below the Line and for 5 days I lived on $1.50 a day. So far I have raised $710.00 for the Global Poverty Fund, and it was an experience I will never forget. 1.4 Billion people live below the line each day, not only feeding themselves on $1.50 a day, but that tiny bit of money has to stretch for transportation, medical, housing, etc. These little chocolate bites were made with both smiles and tears. I made them on the last day of my LBL experience. I was hosting a tea party the next day and these guys are best chilled in the refrigerator overnight. I could not eat them or anything else for that matter, but that was not what brought on the tears. As I entered my state of relaxation pouring the melted chocolate slowly off the spoon onto the parchment paper, watching it glide and swirl to make perfect circles, I realized the gravity of poverty and injustice on our earth. Here I was on my last day of LBL, a light at the end of the tunnel, access to all the food and clean water I wanted, pouring chocolate in a beautiful home where I feel pretty safe from day to day, knowing the hunger was only temporary. And yet that day and everyday the majority of people do not have that light at the end of the tunnel. So why me? Why was I not born into something else?  As I write this I realize many of you are like wow, I was just looking for a delicious chocolate bite recipe. I promise, the recipe is awesome but feel like every recipe has a story and this one belongs to these little guys. As I put the pumpkin seeds, cranberries, almonds, goji berries, and currants atop I wished I could give these to all the children that are hungry. My whole self transported somewhere else, and low and behold that night I received more donations.  Magical. These guys will be sold in a couple weeks at the Maji Mazuri bake-sale  you will be hearing more about Maji Mazuri in the coming days. Anytime I make these for someone, or sell them at a bake-sale  they will make a difference. That is my wish for these creations. So if you decide to try our the recipe share with your family, or make them for a friend who needs a smile. I hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I do!!! 

ChocoBliss Bites

The Goods-

4 Bars of Organic Dark Chocolate, feel free to use 2 bags of chocolate chips instead

As for the toppings be creative! Feel free to mix it up. I went to the bulk section at Whole Foods and picked up a handful of Goji Berries, raw pumpkin seeds, currants, raw almonds, and dried cranberries! All organic of course!

You can melt the chocolate a couple different ways. I do not use the microwave but if you are short on time, go for it! Be careful not to burn the chocolate, and often times consistency will vary. My favorite way is to create my own double broiler. I get a pot fill it with about 1/2 cup of water and find a glass heat proof bowl that sits just right on the pot. It has worked like a charm my whole life so I have never bothered actually purchasing a double broiler! Break the chocolate bars up and put them in the bowl on top of the pot. Make sure the water is simmering on a nice medium low but try not to let it boil. The chocolate will melt, you can give it a couple stirs to make sure it melts evenly! Once the chocolate is all melted take it off the heat and bring it over to some parchment paper lined cookie sheets, or plates. I used a tablespoon but if you want these to be smaller feel free to use a teaspoon!  Spoon the chocolate onto the parchment paper making circles as small or as large as you want. Mine were about the size of a medium silver dollar you find on the beach!  This process takes about 15 or so minutes but its very relaxing. Once all spooned out, go head and add your toppings in any fashion you see fit! You can make designs, you can free hand, you can do whatever makes you smile! Once all your toppings are on transfer to the Refrigerator and let cool for 3 hours to overnight. That’s all there is! Sit back and enjoy these beauties with everyone you love and cherish! ❤

Leave a comment